Zhemgang Dzong

Zhemgang Dzong

  • Zhemgang dzong stands on top of a ridge that rises sharply from the Mangdechhu, facing the village of Trong and Zhemgang town.

  • Zhemgang Dzong was first built by a Tibetan Drukpa lama, Drogon Shangkyeme as early as 1163. The Dzong took its name as Shang Gang, ‘Shang’s Mountain’, which local pronunciation turned into Zhemgang. In 1963, when Zhemgang became a separate dzongkhag, the dzong was renovated under the Third King Jigme Dorji Wangchuk.

  • The dzong is a medium-size traditional three-storey building, and the materials used in the construction were stones, woods, and mud. The entire dzong area comprises of three main structures: the dzong, residence building of the district monk-body, and a two-storied administrative building. The Dzong has a wide courtyard that is estimated to accommodate around one thousand people.

  • One gets a panoramic view of the Khengrig Namsum (the three regions of Zhemgang) and on the opposite side, there stands the imposing Jowo Durshing (the Black Mountain Range) from Zhemgang Dzong,

Related Zhemgang Attractions

from our blog


TCB Logo
RGoB Logo
Drukair Logo
Airline Logo